ace 350 is only good for a backup?

I was talking to a guy who has been TH-ing since the early 70s and he generally hunts with Garretts but he said my 350 would only be good for a back up. He is a tough guy to talk to though, and didnt really explain his reason, he just changed the subject on me. Should I start looking around for better machines? Ive been using the 350 for about 3 months and have done alright, but would i have better success getting into something else?

draaiorgel

At 3 months your not giving the machine or yourself much chance to do better.
stompout.gif
stompout.gif

Be patient and happy with the 350, it always gets better with time.
151.gif

BTW that applies to all machines.
155.gif

robby4570

HEY! I just have a 250 and there is no way I consider it a "back-up".... ;)

My 250 is my primary dirt and dry sand beach hunter. Don't fret and above all else DO NOT let someone else influence you, find out for yourself.

I can honestly say that I have invested almost 200 hours into the 35o, and I will continue to do so. However, does anyone else feel like you have missed anything in the ground, or are ya all confident with your machine? I read about all the other machines on the market and just get to wondering if I had something else and went over all the same spots would I have different results, and when should I get a different machine?

robby4570

You can always upgrade, but every machine is going to miss SOMETHING. The MD is only as good as it's pilot. But there are better (more capable, deeper seeking) detectors around. I will get an AT Pro someday so I can VLF hunt in the rain and not worry about my MD. I have nearly 400 hours detecting and all but 12-1/2 hours are on the 250. I am in no rush to "upgrade" my VLF machine since I am just learning my PI machine now.

Xray

I wouldn't put much stock in what anyone says.
I have been using my 250 for 5 years, and don't feel the need to upgrade.