bounty hunter lone star

I'm brand new to metal detecting. Got the lone star for Christmas. Does anyone have any opinons, advice, or experience with this machine?
Thanks.

C

cchughs

I have never used the Lone Star but my son uses the Traker IV and he finds a lot of stuff with it. As with any detector, there has to be stuff buried where you are swinging it to find anything. Do your research in your area to find old picnic grounds, fair grounds, any gathering places that are long gone and you will find good stuff. Try not to use too much discrimination or you will miss a lot of good finds. Dig every signal at first, I know a real pain but it is a learning process with any new detector. And practice, practice and then practice some more. Good luck and happy hunting.
:smile:​

Hey coinAdam:

I've got a friend from another Forum who uses the Lone Star exclusively. And while the rest of us keep looking for that elusive perfect detector, he goes along with the Lone Star and makes monkeys out of all of us. He hunts primarily school yards, fairgrounds, parks and old properties,and uses the 4" coil probably 90% of the time, for better separation in trashy conditions.

Good Luck and keep us posted on your progress.

Thanks guys. I've got some more newbee questions. How do I know how deep to dig? Do you use a small handheld shovel, and go through the dirt with your hands? I'm trying to figure all of this out,:oops: because I'm going on my first real hunt tommorrow morning.
Thanks

C

cchughs

Keep on digging