Can This Be True?

Gordon needs a pacemaker difibulator placed in his chest. We went to his appointment in Augusta,GA. today. We asked alot of questions of course, one of them was about Metal detecting after surgery. Dr told us Gordon will have to give up the hobby and cannot be around the detectors due to the Magnetic field, Can this be true?? how much of a magnetic field does a metal detector have? I feel like it is the end of the world. I am crushed, if this is the case. Does anybody know? Is there one detector that does not give off more than another? Could he be wrong. Please help.
Gordon and I do this as a couple and I feel if he cannot detect I will give up the hobby too. We truly love to metal detect, But Gordons life depends on this surgery. Thanks in advance for any help you can give us.

PAPPY

Don't Really Know

This say's NOT...BUT...I'm not a doctor either...I will be checking into this as much as I can for your and Gordon's sake...SAY IT AIN'T SO !

Pacemakers

GG,
I'm on the phone with a person about it right now. He is checking and is going to call someone who sells the defib units. Keep the faith!

Hey Pappy,
I'm looking for an excuse to talk to Garrett about my ACE anyway but I don't want to interfere with what you're doing for G.G. Mind if I call Garrett's in the AM and talk to them about possible interference with defibs or had you already planned to do that?

GG_ Just to give you some hope while waiting on an answer, here's a couple options so don't fear all is lost.

Maybe you could operate the MD with Gordon at a safe distance, pinpoint & turn-off the detector, let him handle the recovery.

Also, of it's a matter of alittle distance between Gordon & the coil.....maybe we can come-up with an extended shaft that will keep him a safe distance from the coil (if that's the end of the machine causing any problem.

Don't lose hope.........

Smitty