Can you customize a detector?

Hi All,
This is my first post...glad to be here. Lately I've been thinking about meteorites, and that's brought me here. Looks like you have to be able to go 'deep' and use very large coils do do that. I'm a programmer, so the first questions I had are how to customize or 'beef up' my detector.

Custom Coils: Do people make them for their BH (or other) detectors? assuming one was made and wired to the plug properly, how would the internal circuits handle a 20" coil?

Data interface: Are there any detectors that have any sort of data-out jack, so I might be able to receive the ping or beep as data into software?
(and send it into my GPS as a waypoint?)

-I can already send waypoints to the GPS via my laptop, and could maybe specify the depth as 'altitude'... I'd just need a MD that can output data instead of just a speaker.

Thanks for any opinions you guys can offer!
-Jerry

P.S: My MD is an older BH Quick Draw II, but I could upgrade if a data interface or custom-coil option exists on another unit.

EBCIII

Welcome to the site! Glad to have you on!

As an answer to your question, I will say this. For what you are looking at you could buy a nice new ACE 250, IMHO, Beale.

Welcome to TQ. Wow sounds like you have some knowledge that will lend itself well to experimenting with new ideas.
I dont know anything about this firsthand, but I believe Minelab makes a machine that provides a connection to a pc. You might go to Kellycos website and look at the high end Minelabs. They are one of the sponsors of this forum and I think you can find a link to them at the top.
Look around I know there is a machine out there with an output feature that may get you started.

Another idea may be working with the speaker/headphone output from your machine and A/D converter set up.

If you could develop simple hardware to allow the interface from any machine it would have much more appeal to the average hunter.