For real?

I have not read every post on dowsing but have always thought it was witchcraft. Mind you I know nothing of it. Don't mean to offend those who are involved, but can someone give a scientific outline on how sticks held in the hands can react to water many feet below?

And how does a person search for minerals with sticks? Not trying to be a nay-sayer, I'm curious is all.

Jane

dont know how it works but i have seen my dad (RIP) do it and my grandpa had a well dosed and it was a gusher
good luck
curits

HOWDY

i have no idea how it works...... but it does. my grandpa and my dad taught me. i use it quite frequently to find underground sewer and water pipes and about 75% of the time it's pretty accurate. I just use 2 copper rods bent at a 90 degree angle on the ends for handles and hold them loosely with the tips angled sligtly down.

bdahunter

TQ's Master Pirate
My education was in the sciences but I chose to be a commercial builder by profession. Once while building a hotel in a remote area, the life of the project depended upon finding water in sufficient volume to support a 78 suite hotel. The site was waterfront so you would think it would be easy to get sufficient water but we drilled numerous dry holes by following the advice of the hydrological engineers. The financiers were about to pull the plug on the project and the owners were so frustrated that they were going to give up as well - so I brought in a water witch. I took a lot of ribbing from the engineers, architects, etc. but the water witch gave 2 locations for holes to be drilled and they both produced lots of water when science had produced nothing but dusty holes. The project went ahead and everyone was happy.