Gold In Texas

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ProspectingTexas, Jul 28, 2008.

1. ProspectingTexas

ProspectingTexas New Member

I was just wondering if gold is found in Texas? I'm new, so go easy on me:smile: Yarrr *pirate exit*

2. EPC Guy

EPC Guy TQ Ambassador

Writer, Consultant, Speaker, and Pirate
    Howdy and welcome to TQ! Gold has been found in nearly every state in the country including Texas - although Texas is near the bottom of the list in terms of actual gold production and recovery. Depending where you're located in Texas - New Mexico and Colorado would probably offer a higher level of success in terms of prospecting.

I'm just beginning to get into prospecting / panning / nugget shooting myself and have been doing a bit of research on the subject, and several good books on the subject can be found. I'm currently reading "Gold Panning is Easy" by Roy Lagal - the book not only talks about and illustrates proper panning, sluicing and Md'ing techniques, but goes into quite a bit of detail about the places that will offer the highest chances of success for beginners in locating spots that will actually produce.

Hope this helps...

3. homefire

homefire Well-Known Member

Welcome to the TQ from Southern New Mexico!

Where are you in the Lone State?

Like EPC stated, Texas an't high on the list! Your welcome to come to New Mexico if you like!:biggrin:

Gold is Where You Find It - DesertUSA

4. ProspectingTexas

ProspectingTexas New Member

Re:

I'm in Abilene. I've heard somewhere that Fredricksburg Texas has some near the Enchanted Rock area, but not sure if that's true...Thanks for the info!

5. EPC Guy

EPC Guy TQ Ambassador

Writer, Consultant, Speaker, and Pirate