Great Machine!!!

I have had my Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505 Pro for approximately three years now. The first two years it rarely saw the light of day, or dead of night for that matter. Over this past winter my interest in Metal Dectecting (MD) increased and I started studying it and became more familiar with my machine. My 2011 MD season began on St. Patricks day and I have been obsessed with it ever since. The BH 505 is a respectable metal detector that will not overwhelm a new enthusiast. One outstanding feature is the Auto-notch button. A great setting for beginners to find coins. If you know absolutely nothing about MD all you have to do is turn the machine on, set the sensitivity at the 2 O'clock position and hit the auto-notch button. This setting will react to all the different types of coins with a high degree of confidence with one exception; nickels. The auto-notch setting will find nickels but it predominately finds aluminum cans instead of nickels. Out of my 609 coin finds this year only 18 have been nickels and most of those were found while digging for pennies, dimes, and quarters. But, the benefits of Auto-notch far outweight the lack of ability in finding nickels.
As you gain proficiency and knowledge you will undoubtedly begin using the discriminator settings. Read the manual, use the machine, get some repetitions in, and get in tune with the machine and you will steadily gain proficency which in turn leads to more finds.
Depth capability is respectable. I would say the average finds were at a depth of 2-4 inches with a few at the 5-6 inch range when conditions were exceptionally good (i.e. saturated ground). This machine is well suited for parks, athletic fields, and open spaces. I have attempted using it in remote sites and it does not seem to fair as well.