MXT....The Good, The Bad, And The Ugly

I picked up an MXT about a month ago. I've had a Compass Coin Scanner which has served me well since the early 90's and figured it was about time for an upgrade. I'm no professional MDer, but here is how I see it thus far.

The Good: For the money, I really like the idea of having a high end machine that is basically 3 detectors in one unit. It's well balanced and the readout is pretty simple to understand. I've found some nice stuff in the coin and jewelry mode and also the relic mode (Lots of coins, relics, and my first gold ring). Out of the box, with the standard Eclipse 950 coil, it is light years ahead of anything I have used. I have yet to do pure nugget/picker shooting in the prospecting mode, but have put some small gold samples out to check it with the 4X6 DD coil and it picks up some pretty small stuff. I've found the 4X6 DD coil has worked great for me in some pretty trashy areas I've been working that tends to be higher in mineralization. I've also picked up the Super 12 coil. It too, works well and I can cover quite an area with it.

The Bad: The only thing I can think of is if White's could come out with some kind of processor chip "add-on" to plug into your brain. This would give you instant MXT knowledge all at once for optimally running this machine at any time, for all the different conditions, coils, settings.....etc (Of course, isn't this something we all wish for with any machine we are running?) haha

The Ugly: Looking at my facial expression when I'm in the middle of detecting and the low battery signal lights up and realize I left the spare batteries at home!

Hawk

Buster

King of Spam
Staff member
Welcome Hawk to treasure Quest...Happy Hunting with your new machine...Please to post your finds....Buster....:smile: :smile:

Joker

Welcome to TQ! Im sure with a little use you will become one with that MXT very quickly. Oh yeah, always check your battery stash before you leave the house lol