Signal issues GB?

I'm fairly new to the GTI 2500 and being used to my Whites TDI it's a new ballgame. The past 2 outings I was getting 25cent signals and dug up everything from nuts, nails, pennies and other trash. I put a quarter on the ground and it read a crisp 25cents. I then pulled up a plug, threw the quarter in, put the plug in and didn't even get a signal. We're talkin' 6 inches here! I reset the machine prior to hunting so it's (supposedly) back to factory settings. My question is do I need to manually GB the machine? I was under the impression it's a "turn on and go" machine. Please bear with me, I normally use a Whites TDI.

steve07

Welcome Aboard

to TQ Pickpan!!! Sorry I can't help either. Hopefully drawing more attention to your post may get someone who knows to look.
Glad you are signed in here though!!!!

Company F

Find a Garrett forum online and ask someone experienced with the GTI about the problems you have encountered. You can locate one by going to a search engine such as Yahoo or Google. I'm sure someone will jump in and help. I use a White's MXT and not qualified to answer your question. :spin:

Jason in Enid

It could be that your Garrett is working just fine.

Your detector could be adjusting for heavy mineralization like it was designed to do, and a freshly planted quarter might not be able to respond above the background "noise". It has been known for a long time that fresh plants NEVER sound off like "real" targets. When a metal is in the ground for years, it develops a halo of oxidation around it. Same thing that makes iron false to a detector helps it find copper and silver.

It could be that your Garrett is working just fine.