The Elusive Beep

Discussion in 'Bounty Hunter Metal Detectors' started by CincyDetector, Sep 30, 2011.

1. CincyDetector

CincyDetector New Member

Hey everyone! Newby here with a question. I am currently using a Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX which I bought at Dick's Sporting Goods. I've been using it for about six months and everything has been fine up until now.

The problem I'm having is, I'll be walking along slowly, sweeping my detector steadily from side to side and suddenly I'll get a hit (beep). I'll take a few steps back and start waving my detector over the spot where I got the hit to zero it in, but I get nothing! It's like whatever the detector had hit on has suddenly vanished. I'll try changing the depth which doesn't work, I'll turn off the detector and then turn it back on, which also doesn't work. I'll even sweep over a ten foot radius from the spot and still find nothing. Then to make matters worse, when I've given up and decide to keep walking, I'll get a hit again and repeat the whole process over again.

The model of detector that I have doesn't have any sensitivity settings or ground-balancing settings, just a discriminator which I usually keep on "Coin". Also, I don't wear steel toed boots and I don't have any metal on me (or in me).

If anyone has any solutions that I can try, I would be most grateful to hear them. I'm sure all of you know how frustrating it is to get a hit and then lose it.

2. steve07

steve07 Well-Known Member

Retired/Disabled
    Sometimes...

Trash will give you a beep even in Coin mode. Why? I remember once I got a coin reading from a round piece of foil a little bigger then a Quarter. I also know that occasionally if you have the Sensitivity set high, you will get some trash spikes once in a while (Erroneous beeps).
    Maybe one of these!!! Sensitivity on some BH Detectors is set by volume.

I may not have the right answer, but it's a start....