Vaquero or Tejon.. ??

Calz

:banghead:

HI,
Apart from borrowing a friends detector for a few weeks (Compass Scanner Pro) I'm a complete newbi to metal detecting :doh:.
I've now got to the point I want/need to buy my own detector and I've narrowed my choice to 2, a Tejon or Vaquero :doh:.
I have read many reviews on both and I'm finding it hard to choose. Is the Tejon worth the extra $140 over the price of the Vaquero, not forgetting i'm a newbi .:doh:
I understand about the extra noise generated by the Tejon as it's a more powerfull macine etc.
I need a good all round detector for coins and relics, I'm heading for a Vaquero, but, should I pay the extra $140 and go for a Tejon.....:banghead: :doh: :banghead: :doh:...ahhh my head hurts.:alcoholic...

I live in the UK (East Anglia).
Ahh yes, I'm also thinking of importing from the USA. How does that affect the warranty on a Tesoro.

regards

Calz

Buster

King of Spam
Staff member
Welcome aboard. This is a great forum and has a lot of info. I am not sure of the detectors you talked about though. I used a Garrett and have a Whites now. Don't hesitate to ask questions . There are allot of smart hunters on this site. Good luck.....Buster...:smile:

Calz

Hi,

Thanks.
I've read the reviews. http://http://metaldetectorreviews.net/tesoro.htm

They both score really high but the Vaquero get higher with all fives.
So, is the only difference that the Tejon gets an inch or two deeper for $140 more?

Although one review stated against a Tejon:
"As a matter of fact, the Vaquero is a much deeper machine in bad ground".

:doh:

MinelabMan

Hi Calz and welcome to TQ!