You Don't Hear Much About the Cortes, But

RLOH

I have been detecting for over 13 years and I retired 20 months ago so I hunt every day the weather is good. While working I hunted about two or three times a week. I buy and trade used detectors and I have lost track of how many I have tried. I usually don't use them for a couple of hours and trade or sell them, but I give them a hard one or two month workout(40 or 50 hours). I have tried every new detector except for the White Vision and Etrac. I have used an Explorer SE pro this year as my main detector and while a great detector, it is heavy on my surgically repaired wrists(11 surgeries). I always have one backup to the Explorer and I just got around trying my first Tesoro Id detector. I have used all of the others Bandito,silver, V, C, and Tejon and have had success with them all, but I always get tired of thumbing the disc knob to check all the targets. I got the Cortes used a couple of weeks ago and I have used it for over 20 hours. First, it is light. It has a very accurate meter that is accurate to 8 inches or so which is better than some of the expensive ID machines I have used. It has a great all metal and a factory preset ground balance. In most of the places I have used it, it has been a deep detector( coins from 6 to 9 inches). I have had a couple of places that the mineralization was too bad and the depth was cut considerably. I hunt with the disc to accept nickles and count on the meter. I have not been disappointed with the meter. It is very accurate on copper and silver coins. I have not got the nickles completely figured out, but I am finding many more of them. I don't have to use the sum mode which is a tone ID mode to use when you are checking a questionable target. The meter is just so accurate. I found a silver quarter at 9 inches and probably close to 25 wheat pennies with some 8 inches deep. This detector is a "sleeper" and I am having a great time with it. R.L.

Digging Fool